Get Your Race On…

Every year, around this time, there are a lot of little races being organized around Zagreb.  And every year I say I’m gonna go and I never do.  Why? Because a lot of the times the races coincide with one event or another occurring on the same weekend.  And by event, I mean a gathering that includes loads of food and loads of alcohol, not exactly pre-race friendly, if you know what I mean…

But this year I’ve decided that despite the events, I am signing up to run.  Why?  Because I feel that participating in these races is a great way to be a part of the running community.  And since there has been a significant increase in runners in Zagreb (I don’t have any statistics to back it up but I see them everywhere all the time) I’m thinking these races are a great way to get everyone together to celebrate their extra-curricular activities.

So here we go…

Adidas – All in for Zagreb

954740_10151474545918019_1801417236_n

This is a great series of races, 5 in all, organized in different neighborhoods around the city, and the best part of it is that when you register, you are competing for your neighborhood team.  Points are accumulated after each race and the team that wins the most points… you guessed it… wins!!!  The races are from 3-5 km long which is a great way to get a big number of runners involved.  There are also children’s races and a 1km recreational race for those who are not up to the longer distances just yet.  Those who participate in all 5 races receive a gift from Adidas.  BONUS!!!

Here are the dates:

  • 26.05. – CENTAR: kvart Medveščak (park Ribnjak)
  • 15.06. – NOVI ZAGREB: kvart Zapruđe (park Majera)
  • 06.07 – ČRNOMEREC: kvart Gajnice (park Lorce)
  • 14.09. – TREŠNJEVKA: kvart Knežija
  • 28.09. – TRNJE: kvart Folka

And despite the fact that I have a wedding to attend on Saturday, I am very much looking forward to the very first race this Sunday 🙂

Next is the Volim Trčanje (I love running) race being organized on June 9th.

941472_10151574226554004_347531321_n

Again, the day before, we are organizing birthday parties for both our daughters, so it will be a long day but I will do my best to refrain from the alcohol.  I am so excited to be doing this one because I’ve managed to skip it every year so far.  The races included are:

  • Baby marathon (born 2011 and 2012) – 20 meters
  • Children (born 2008, 2009 and 2010) – 100 meters
  • Children (born 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007) – 500 meters
  • Children (born 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2003 ) – 800 meters
  • Adults – 2 km
  • Adults – 5 km
  • Adults – 11.5 km (I’m doing this one!)

And finally, I have officially registered for this year’s Zagreb Half-Marathon in October.

medalja-660x330

Most of my focus when running is geared toward this race.  I definitely would like to do better than the first, and only, time I ran it two years ago, so I am especially looking forward to it.  I don’t want to define my goals at the moment.  But I will see how my training is coming along in a few months and then I can get more serious about time-specific goals.

Happy running everyone!

3 thoughts on “Get Your Race On…

  1. Good for you girl! I have to give you even more props for running in a foreign country, I know you live there so you’re used to it, but still, high five for signing up!

Leave a comment